Aug 28, 2026

8 Best Personal Loans With No Origination Fees of 2026

Written by Dawn Allcot
|
Blog Post Image

A personal loan with no origination fee doesn’t charge an upfront processing fee, so the full amount you borrow gets deposited into your account.

Our top pick is SoFi®, with no required loan origination fees, fixed annual percentage rates (APRs) starting at 6.99% and loan amounts from $5,000 to $100,000 for qualified borrowers. Across the eight lenders on this list, APRs run from 6.09% on the low end to 35.49% on the high end, so your rate will depend on your credit and loan term.

Publisher Logo
MoneyLion
43

Most lenders charge an origination fee of 1% to 10% of your loan amount. On a $10,000 loan, that fee can cost you $100 to $1,000 upfront. That’s money you keep by choosing a no-fee lender.

Here are the eight best personal loans with no origination fees for 2026:

  • SoFi: Best overall for no-fee loans

  • LightStream: Best for excellent credit

  • Discover® Personal Loans: Best for debt consolidation

  • PenFed Credit Union: Best credit union pick

  • Navy Federal Credit Union: Best for military members

  • U.S. Bank: Best for existing bank customers

  • Wells Fargo: Best for large loan amounts

  • PNC Bank: Best for in-branch service

Read on to learn about the best personal loans with no origination fees and how to qualify.


MoneyLion offers a service to help you find personal loan offers. Based on the information you provide, you can get matched with offers for up to $100,000 from our top providers. You can compare rates, terms, and fees from different lenders and choose the best offer for you.


  • The best no-origination-fee loans give you every dollar you borrow: SoFi, LightStream, Discover and PenFed lead this list, with fixed APRs starting as low as 6.09% for the strongest credit profiles.

  • Skipping the fee can save hundreds up front: Origination fees typically run 1% to 10% of the loan — about $100 to $1,000 on a $10,000 loan — and are deducted before the money reaches you.

  • A no-fee loan can carry a slightly higher APR: Some lenders build the cost into the rate, often 0.25% to 1% higher, so compare APR — the all-in yearly cost — not just the fee.

  • Credit unions are strong no-fee picks: PenFed and Navy Federal charge no origination or prepayment fees for members, and federal credit unions cap personal loan APRs at 18%.

  • Banks often reserve their best no-fee terms for existing customers: U.S. Bank, Wells Fargo and PNC offer higher limits, longer terms or relationship discounts to current account holders.

  • Most no-fee lenders want good-to-excellent credit: Expect a minimum score around 660, with the lowest APRs reserved for scores of 720 and up.

Summary generated by AI, verified by MoneyLion editors


Use this table to compare loan amounts, annual percentage rate (APR) ranges, term lengths and minimum credit scores side by side.

Lender

Loan amount

APR range

Term length

Minimum credit score

SoFi*

$5,000 to $100,000

6.99% to 35.49% (with autopay discount)

24 to 84 months

Good to excellent

LightStream

$5,000 to $100,000

7.24% to 24.89% (with autopay discount)

24 to 240 months

Good to excellent

Discover® Personal Loans

$2,500 to $40,000

6.99% to 24.99%

36 to 84 months

Good to excellent

PenFed

$600 to $50,000

6.09% to 17.99%

12 to 60 months

Not disclosed

Navy Federal

$250 to $50,000 (up to $150,000 with a qualified co-applicant)

8.74% to 18%

6 to 60 months

Not disclosed

U.S. Bank

$1,000 to $25,000 (up to $50,000 for U.S. Bank clients)

9.24% to 24.99% 

12 to 60 months (up to 84 months for U.S. Bank clients)

Good to excellent

Wells Fargo

$3,000 to $100,000

6.74% to 26.74%

12 to 84 months

Not disclosed

PNC Bank

$5,000 to $35,000

6.99% to 25.29%

12 to 60 months

Not disclosed

Rates, lender details and eligibility requirements were last reviewed in August 2026.

  • Best for people with good to excellent credit who want a large loan with no mandatory fees

  • Look elsewhere if you have fair or poor credit, or need funding under $5,000

SoFi is an online financial services provider and bank offering high-interest savings accounts, credit cards, insurance, loans and much more. With a SoFi personal loan, you can borrow money for home improvement projects, family planning, travel, weddings or virtually any other need.

Loan amounts range from $5,000 to $100,000, with terms from two to seven years. If approved, funds are often available the same day you sign the loan, making SoFi a good option if you need an instant loan for a sudden expense. 

There are no required loan origination fees, prepayment penalties or late fees, either. Note that you may have the option to lower your rate by choosing a loan with an optional origination fee.

  • Loan amount: $5,000 to $100,000

  • Interest rate: 6.99% to 35.49% (with autopay discount)

  • Loan terms: 24 to 84 months

  • Minimum credit score: Good to excellent

  • Time to fund: As soon as the same day

On a $20,000 SoFi loan with no origination fee, you save up to $2,000 compared to a lender charging a 10% fee.

  • Best for borrowers with strong credit who need fast funding for a big purchase

  • Look elsewhere if you want to prequalify with a soft credit check

If you have a good-to-excellent credit profile, you may qualify for a LightStream personal loan with no origination fee and a low interest rate.

The best-qualified borrowers can snag an interest rate (with autopay discount) as low as 7.24%, and rates go as high as 24.89%. Loan terms range from 24 to 240 months, and there are no fees associated with the loan. If you can pay it off before the term ends, you won't pay any prepayment penalties and might save significantly on interest costs.

You can apply online, and if accepted, you may receive money deposited into your bank account on the same business day. But one downside of LightStream is that you cannot change the due date or add autopay for the rate discount after your loan has been funded.

  • Loan amount: $5,000 to $100,000

  • Interest rate: 7.24% to 24.89 % (with autopay discount)

  • Loan terms: 24 to 240 months, depending on use

  • Minimum credit score: Good to excellent

  • Time to fund: As soon as the same business day

Personal loans from Discover, a division of Capital One, N.A., Member FDIC, are available from $2,500 to $40,000, with interest rates from 6.99% to 24.99%. You'll need exceptional credit and a short loan term to qualify for the lowest rate. 

Discover loans have no origination fees or closing costs, and you can choose loan terms of 36 to 84 months, making them ideal for debt consolidation. Many borrowers who qualify receive a decision the same day and can have funds deposited into their bank account as soon as the next business day after acceptance.

  • Loan amount: $2,500 to $40,000

  • Interest rate: 6.99% to 24.99%

  • Loan terms: 36 to 84 months

  • Minimum credit score: Good to excellent

  • Time to fund: As soon as the next business day

Discover’s lack of fees, predictability, and transparency also put Discover among the best personal loans for students, although it’s worth noting you can’t use these loans for post-secondary education costs, only personal expenses.

  • Best for PenFed credit union members or people willing to join

  • Look elsewhere if you’d rather not deal with membership requirements

Credit union personal loans often offer low interest rates to their members. PenFed personal loans have no origination fees, prepayment penalties or hidden costs. Loan terms can extend to 60 months, and you can borrow as much as $50,000.

Typically, funds will be deposited into your account within one to two business days after approval. Unlike many credit unions, which have membership requirements, PenFed is available to anyone in the U.S. with a Social Security number or a Tax ID. You'll need an initial deposit of $5 to open a PenFed account, which will qualify you to apply for a personal loan as a credit union member.

  • Loan amount: $600 to $50,000

  • Interest rate: 6.09% to 17.99%

  • Loan terms: 12 to 60 months

  • Minimum credit score: Not disclosed

  • Time to fund: As soon as the next day

  • Best for current Navy Federal Credit Union members, or people eligible to join

  • Look elsewhere if you don’t have a military affiliation required for membership

Navy Federal personal loans are a strong option for military members, veterans and eligible family members who want a personal loan without losing part of the proceeds to origination fees. Its personal loans come with fixed APRs as low as 8.74%, no origination or prepayment fees, and same-day funding for approved borrowers in most cases.

Loan amounts start at just $250, which can be helpful for smaller borrowing needs, but Navy Federal also offers larger personal expense loans above $50,000 when a qualifying co-applicant is involved. That flexibility makes it a solid fit for everything from emergency expenses to debt consolidation and major purchases if you qualify for membership.

  • Loan amount: $250 to $50,000 (up to $150,000 with a qualified co-applicant)

  • Interest rate: 8.74% to 18.00%

  • Loan terms: 6 to 60 months

  • Minimum credit score: Not disclosed

  • Time to fund: As soon as the same day

  • Best for people who already bank with U.S. Bank

  • Look elsewhere if you need a larger loan and aren’t an existing customer

U.S. Bank personal loans are especially appealing for existing bank customers because current clients get access to the lender’s strongest loan features. There are no origination fees or prepayment penalties, and current U.S. Bank clients can borrow more, choose longer repayment terms and potentially receive funds within hours after signing.

That customer advantage is what sets U.S. Bank apart here. Current clients can borrow up to $50,000 and repay over up to 84 months, while non-clients are capped at $25,000 and 60 months. For borrowers who already bank with U.S. Bank, this can make it one of the more flexible no-fee bank loan options on the market.

  • Loan amount: $1,000 to $25,000 (up to $50,000 for U.S. Bank clients)

  • Interest rate: 9.24% to 24.99%

  • Loan terms: 12 to 60 months (up to 84 months for U.S. Bank clients)

  • Minimum credit score: Good to excellent

  • Time to fund: 1 to 4 business days 

Borrow $15,000 with U.S. Bank, and you keep the full $15,000 — a lender charging a 5% origination fee would take $750 off the top.

  • Best for existing Wells Fargo customers who need larger loans

  • Look elsewhere if you haven’t had an eligible Wells Fargo account for at least 12 months

Wells Fargo personal loans are available up to $100,000 with no origination fee, no closing fee and no prepayment penalty for paying off the loan early. For borrowers covering major home improvements, large purchases or sizable debt-consolidation balances, that high borrowing limit can make Wells Fargo a practical choice.

The main catch is that personal loans are available only to existing Wells Fargo customers with a qualifying consumer account that’s been open for at least 12 months. Still, for eligible borrowers, rates are competitive, repayment terms extend up to 84 months, and most customers receive funds the day they sign for the loan.

  • Loan amount: $3,000 to $100,000

  • Interest rate: 6.74% to 26.74% (with relationship discount)

  • Loan terms: 12 to 84 months

  • Minimum credit score: Not disclosed

  • Time to fund: As soon as the same day

  • Best for same-day funding if you’re close to a branch

  • Look elsewhere if you don’t live in a state with physical branches

PNC Bank personal loans are a good fit for borrowers who value in-branch service, since approved applicants can sign loan documents at a branch and may receive funds immediately. The lender also helps keep upfront borrowing costs low by offering no origination or application fees, so more of your loan proceeds stay in your pocket.

PNC’s unsecured personal loans range from $5,000 to $35,000, with terms from 12 to 60 months. Rates vary by loan amount, repayment term and ZIP code, so PNC may be a better fit for borrowers who want branch support and personalized service rather than the broadest national online-loan experience.

  • Loan amount: $5,000 to $35,000

  • Interest rate: 6.99% to 25.29%

  • Loan terms: 12 to 60 months

  • Minimum credit score: Not disclosed

  • Time to fund: Immediate if you sign in branch or electronically; allow more time if documents are mailed

MoneyLion reviewed dozens of personal loan lenders and ranked them using these factors.

  • No origination fee: The lender charges 0% in origination or processing fees.

  • APR range: Rates are competitive against other unsecured personal loan lenders.

  • Loan amounts: Borrowing limits fit a range of needs, from small loans under $1,000 to large loans up to $100,000.

  • Repayment terms: Terms typically run from two to seven years to give you flexibility.

  • Funding speed: Money can reach your account within one to seeven business days.

  • Credit requirements: Options are available for fair, good and excellent credit profiles.

  • Extra fees: The lender is transparent about late fees, prepayment penalties and other charges.

Finding personal loans with no origination fees can put more cash in your pocket to pay for whatever you need. But it's not the only consideration when you are comparing loans. Here are other factors to keep in mind.

The interest rate on an installment loan can mean a difference of thousands of dollars over the life of your loan. Interest is the money you pay to the lender for the privilege of borrowing. But there's an even more important number to consider: the annual percentage rate.

The APR takes into account any fees — including loan origination fees — associated with the loan. When you're comparing loans, make sure to compare the APR, as this is the total annual cost of the loan.

Some lenders, such as SoFi, allow you to borrow up to $100,000, making it ideal for larger home improvement projects, debt consolidation and other pricey purchases. Others, like Discover, cap loan amounts at $40,000. Before you shop around for a loan, it's a good idea to know exactly how much you want to borrow for the issue at hand.

The best loans with no origination fees are typically only available to borrowers with good-to-excellent credit. If you don't qualify for one of these loans, consider a loan for borrowers with bad credit. These lenders usually take other factors, like income and steady employment, into consideration.

The downside of getting a bad credit loan is that you'll likely face higher interest rates. If possible, consider improving your credit score before moving forward with a personal loan to help you lock in the best rates.

According to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB), origination fees are one-time charges that lenders may take out of your loan proceeds before the money reaches you, so a $10,000 loan with a 5% fee sends you only $9,500.

A no-fee loan skips the upfront charge but may have a higher APR to offset it. A low-fee loan often charges 1% to 10% of your loan amount upfront but can offer a lower APR over the life of the loan.

Here is a quick way to think about the tradeoff.

  • Pick a no-fee loan when you want the full loan amount in your account and plan to pay it off over a shorter term. For example, skipping a 6% origination fee on a $25,000 loan puts $1,500 back in your pocket at closing.

  • Pick a low-fee loan when the lower APR saves you more money over a longer repayment term than the fee costs you upfront.

  • Compare the total cost — add the origination fee to the total interest paid to see which loan costs less overall.

Not always. Some lenders skip the origination fee and keep rates competitive, while others offset it with a slightly higher APR. Compare the total cost — interest plus any fees — over the life of the loan to see which option saves you more.

You can try. Strong credit, steady income and offers from other lenders give you the most leverage. Some lenders won’t budge, but it costs nothing to ask before you sign.

Sometimes. If a loan with a fee has a much lower APR than a no-fee loan, you may still come out ahead. Add the fee to the total interest and compare both loans side by side before you decide.

Most no-fee lenders require a credit score of 660 or higher, and the lowest APRs are available for scores of 720 and up. You may still qualify with fair credit, but expect a higher rate.

An origination fee is a one-time charge taken from your loan when it funds. Your APR is the yearly cost of borrowing, including interest and most fees. Two loans can share the same interest rate but have very different APRs once fees are added in.


  • No-origination-fee loan: A personal loan that skips the upfront setup charge, so the amount you borrow is the amount you receive.

  • Origination fee: A one-time charge, often 1% to 10% of the loan, deducted from your proceeds before the money is disbursed.

  • Annual percentage rate (APR): The yearly cost of borrowing, including interest and most fees — the best number for comparing loans.

  • Fixed-rate loan: A loan whose interest rate and monthly payment stay the same for the full term.

  • Prepayment penalty: A fee some lenders charge for paying off a loan early — absent from every loan on this list.

  • Autopay discount: A rate reduction, often 0.25% to 0.50%, for enrolling in automatic payments.

  • Relationship discount: A rate break some banks give to existing account holders.

  • Co-applicant: A second borrower whose credit and income are considered together with yours, which some lenders (such as Navy Federal) require for larger loan amounts.

Sources

Summary generated by AI, verified by MoneyLion editors


Emily Gadd, CCC™, contributed to editing this article.

Photo credit: Jacob Wackerhausen / iStock.com

*Fixed rates from 6.99% APR to 35.49% APR. APR reflects the 0.25% autopay discount and a 0.25% direct deposit discount. SoFi Platform personal loans are made either by SoFi Bank, N.A. or , Cross River Bank, a New Jersey State Chartered Commercial Bank, Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender. SoFi may receive compensation if you take out a loan originated by Cross River Bank. These rate ranges are current as of 11/03/25 and are subject to change without notice. Not all rates and amounts available in all states. See SoFi Personal Loan eligibility details at https://www.sofi.com/eligibility-criteria/#eligibility-personal. Not all applicants qualify for the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. Your actual rate will be within the range of rates listed above and will depend on a variety of factors, including evaluation of your credit worthiness, income, and other factors. Loan amounts range from $5,000 to $100,000. The APR is the cost of credit as a yearly rate and reflects both your interest rate and an origination fee of 9.99% of your loan amount for Cross River Bank originated loans which will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive and for SoFi Bank originated loans have an origination fee of 0% to 7%, will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive.


Dawn Allcot
Written by
Dawn Allcot
Dawn Allcot has more than 20 years of experience as a personal finance and travel writer, with articles featured on Chase Bank’s award-winning website, CNET, Forbes, and many others. A self-proclaimed shopaholic and bargain hunter, she loves bringing all the best deals from stores like Dollar Tree and Costco to GOBankingRates readers, as well as sharing travel, budget, and credit management tips. She lives on Long Island, New York, with her husband and their two teens.
Jasmin Baron, CCC™
Edited by
Jasmin Baron, CCC™
Jasmin Baron is a NACCC Certified Credit Counselor™ and personal finance expert focused on credit building, budgeting, debt management, and financial wellness. With more than a decade of experience creating consumer finance content, she’s known for making money topics clear, practical and judgment-free. A single mom of three and a volunteer with her local high school’s personal finance “Reality Check” program, Jasmin brings real-world perspective to everything she writes. She holds a Bachelor of Science from McMaster University and an Aviation and Flight Technology diploma from Seneca Polytechnic. Her work has appeared on CardCritics, GOBankingRates, CNN Underscored Money, Business Insider, The Points Guy, point.me and Nav.

MoneyLion does not provide, own, control or guarantee third-party products or services accessible through its Marketplace (collectively, “Third-Party Products”). The Third-Party Products are owned, controlled or made available by third parties (the "Third-Party Providers"). Should you choose to purchase any Third-Party Products, the Third-Party Providers’ terms and privacy policies apply to your purchase, so you must agree to and understand those terms. The display on the MoneyLion website, app, or platform of any of a Third-Party Product or Third-Party Provider does not-in any way-imply, suggest, or constitute a recommendation by MoneyLion of that Third-Party Product or Third-Party Financial Provider. MoneyLion may receive compensation from third parties for referring you to the third party, their products or to their website.

This material is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as financial, legal, or tax advice. You should consult your own financial, legal, and tax advisors before engaging in any transaction. Information, including hypothetical projections of finances, may not take into account taxes, commissions, or other factors which may significantly affect potential outcomes. This material should not be considered an offer or recommendation to buy or sell a security. While information and sources are believed to be accurate, MoneyLion does not guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information or source provided herein and is under no obligation to update this information. For more information about MoneyLion, please visit https://www.moneylion.com/terms-and-conditions/.