MoneyLion
Published: November 4, 2026
8 min read

Axos Bank Personal Loans: Rates, Requirements and Whether They're Worth It

Blog Post Image
  • Strong credit, mid-sized loans: Axos Bank personal loans run $7,000 to $50,000 over 36 to 72 months and generally require a 730 credit score, with a fixed annual percentage rate (APR) of 8.24% to 18.99%.

  • Low origination fee: Axos charges 0% to 2% of the loan amount, deducted from your proceeds, and no prepayment penalty.

  • Fast, online-only funding: Funds can arrive as early as the same day and within two business days of signing.

For your convenience, this is an AI generated summary of the following article, verified by MoneyLion editors

Axos Bank personal loans are unsecured loans of $7,000 to $50,000, with terms of 36 to 72 months, a minimum credit score of 730 and a fixed APR of 8.24% to 18.99%. Origination fees range from 0% to 2% of the loan amount, and there's no prepayment penalty. The loans suit borrowers with strong credit who want a mid-sized loan and fast, online-only funding. If your credit is below 730 or you need less than $7,000, other lenders will fit better.

Axos Bank is an online bank with no branches. Its parent, Axos Financial, Inc., trades on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) under the ticker AX and reported about $30.8 billion in consolidated assets as of Sept. 30, 2026. The bank traces its roots to Bank of Internet, U.S.A., which opened for business on July 4, 2000, and was rebranded as Axos Bank in 2018.

Publisher Logo
MoneyLion
24

Axos offers personal loans, checking and savings accounts, mortgages and investment accounts. Because its personal loans are unsecured, approval and pricing depend on your credit, income and existing debt.

If you want the basics first, start with our guide to personal loans before you compare lenders.

Feature

Details

Loan amounts

$7,000 to $50,000

APR

8.24% to 18.99%, fixed

Terms

36 to 72 months

Minimum credit score

730

Origination fee

0% to 2%, based on credit

Late fee

Disclosed in your loan agreement

Prepayment penalty

None

Funding

As soon as the same day, subject to acceptance and processing

Rates and terms vary by creditworthiness, income and loan purpose. Confirm your actual offer during prequalification.

Pros

Cons

Fixed-rate borrowing: Axos lists APRs of 8.24% to 18.99%, with repayment terms of 36 to 72 months.

High published score threshold: Axos’s application page states a 730 credit score, which it does not identify specifically as a FICO Score.

Soft-pull prequalification: Axos says checking preliminary offers doesn’t affect your credit score.

$7,000 minimum: Borrowers seeking a smaller loan will need to compare other lenders.

No prepayment penalty: Axos says you can pay the loan off early without a prepayment penalty.

Origination fee: Axos lists a 0% to 2% fee. If it’s deducted from the proceeds, it reduces the amount you receive, while interest is based on the loan principal.

Potentially quick funding: Axos advertises funds as soon as the same day, subject to acceptance and processing.

Some terms need confirmation: Axos’s current application and loan materials don’t publicly confirm a fixed late fee or a co-signer policy.


MoneyLion offers a service to help you find personal loan offers. Based on the information you provide, you can get matched with offers for up to $100,000 from our top providers. You can compare rates, terms and fees from different lenders and choose the best offer for you.


Axos's current personal loan APR is fixed at 8.24% to 18.99%, depending on your credit, income and loan details. The origination fee is 0% to 2% of the loan amount and is deducted from your proceeds before funding:

  • APR: 8.24% to 18.99%, fixed.

  • Origination fee: 0% to 2%, based on your credit.

  • Late fee: Disclosed in your loan agreement. Axos directs borrowers to the promissory note for late-fee and other charge terms.

  • Prepayment penalty: None.

Here's how the fee works on a $10,000 loan. A 2% fee is $200, so you receive $9,800 but repay the full $10,000 plus interest. If you need $10,000 in hand, request a little more.

For context, the Federal Reserve's G.19 release put the average rate on 24-month personal loans at commercial banks at 11.9% in August 2026. That figure is the release's unweighted average of banks' most commonly offered rates, not a market-wide average or a quote for any one borrower. Axos's low end sits below it, while the high end runs above it.

Axos ties its rewards to deposit accounts, not to the loan itself. Its Rewards Checking account advertises an additional 0.6% annual percentage yield (APY) when you make an eligible Axos loan payment from that account, and its CashBack Checking account advertises up to 1% cash back subject to balance and activity rules. These are checking-account benefits, not a lower APR on your loan. Availability and terms can change, so confirm them with Axos before you open an account for this purpose.

Axos's application page states a minimum credit score of 730. It lists this as a credit score and doesn't identify it specifically as a FICO Score. A 730 sits in the commonly used "good" band, and "very good" begins at 740.

For reference, here's how FICO groups credit scores:

Credit tier

FICO range

Poor

300 to 579

Fair

580 to 669

Good

670 to 739

Very good

740 to 799

Exceptional

800 to 850

Payment history is the largest single factor in a FICO Score, at 35%, according to myFICO. If your score is below 730, focus on on-time payments and lowering existing balances before you apply, and review the full personal loan requirements lenders check. Axos also considers your debt-to-income (DTI) ratio, which the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) defines as your monthly debt payments divided by your gross monthly income. Axos does not publish a specific DTI threshold.

Axos advertises funding as soon as the same day of approval, but the actual timing depends on when you accept your offer and how long verification and processing take. Some applicants get a decision within about 24 hours of applying. Once funds are sent, availability also depends on your own bank's policies.

  1. Prequalify: Enter your loan amount, term and purpose on Axos's personal loans page. This step uses a soft credit inquiry.

  2. Provide details: Submit your personal information, Social Security number, proof of income and a valid ID.

  3. Review your offer: Compare the rate, term and fee with other lenders.

  4. Get funded: After approval and signing, Axos advertises funding as soon as the same day, subject to acceptance and processing.

Axos runs a hard credit inquiry when you formally apply. A hard inquiry can stay on your credit report for up to two years and may affect your FICO Scores for up to 12 months. Check Axos's application disclosure for exactly when the hard pull occurs.

Feature

Axos Bank

Upgrade

SoFi

APR

8.24% to 18.99%

7.74% to 35.99%

6.99% to 35.49%

Loan amounts

$7,000 to $50,000

$1,000 to $50,000

$5,000 to $100,000

Terms

36 to 72 months

24 to 84 months

24 to 84 months

Minimum credit score

730+

Not publicly specified

Not publicly specified

Origination fee

0% to 2%

1.85% to 9.99%

Optional, up to 7%

Funding

Same day, subject to processing

Next business day, subject to verification

Same day, subject to processing

Axos suits borrowers with strong credit who want a mid-sized loan and a low rate ceiling. Upgrade allows joint applications, and SoFi offers larger loans. These competitor terms come from each lender's published materials and current MoneyLion reviews, so confirm the latest details before you choose. For more options, see our list of the best banks for personal loans or compare Discover® personal loans.

Yes. Axos Financial is publicly traded on the NYSE, and it reported about $30.8 billion in consolidated assets as of Sept. 30, 2026. Its non-performing assets were 0.51% of total assets at the same date, down from 0.64% a year earlier. These are company-level measures of the bank's financial health, and they don't determine the terms or outcome of any individual personal loan. Deposit accounts at Axos Bank are insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corp. (FDIC) up to $250,000 per depositor, per insured bank, per ownership category, subject to FDIC rules.

As with any lender, read your loan disclosures closely, confirm the rate and fee in your offer, and make sure the monthly payment fits your budget before you sign.

Consider Axos if you:

  • Have strong credit: Your score is 730 or higher.

  • Need a mid-sized loan: You want $7,000 to $50,000.

  • Want speed: You value fast funding and an online experience.

  • Bank digitally: You're comfortable managing the loan entirely online.

Look elsewhere if you:

  • Have a lower score: Your credit is below 730.

  • Need a small loan: You want less than $7,000.

  • Want the lowest APR: Compare offers from Upgrade, SoFi and others.

  • Need a co-applicant: Axos's materials don't confirm whether it accepts co-signers, so check before applying if that matters to you.

Axos Bank personal loans suit borrowers with good to excellent credit who need $7,000 to $50,000. The tradeoffs are a 730 credit-score threshold, a $7,000 floor and an origination fee of up to 2%. Confirm your APR in prequalification and compare personal loan offers against at least two other lenders before you accept.

Rates and terms are accurate as of Nov. 4, 2026, and are subject to change. Confirm the current details on axosbank.com before you apply.


  • Annual percentage rate (APR): The yearly cost of borrowing, including the interest rate and certain fees such as an origination fee.

  • Origination fee: A one-time charge deducted from your loan proceeds before you receive funds. Axos charges 0% to 2%.

  • Unsecured loan: A loan approved based on creditworthiness and income, with no collateral.

  • FICO Score: A credit score from 300 to 850, grouped into tiers from poor to exceptional.

  • Soft credit inquiry: A credit check used for prequalification that doesn't affect your score.

  • Hard credit inquiry: A formal credit check triggered when you apply. It can lower your score temporarily.

  • Debt-to-income (DTI) ratio: Your monthly debt payments divided by your gross monthly income.

  • Prepayment penalty: A fee for paying off a loan early. Axos doesn't charge one.


Parts of this article were created with AI assistance. MoneyLion editors reviewed, fact-checked and edited the final version and are responsible for its accuracy.


Rudri Bhatt Patel, CFHC™
Written by
Rudri Bhatt Patel, CFHC™
Rudri Bhatt Patel is NACCC Certified Financial Health Counselor™, chief personal finance and retirement expert, writer, editor and educator with over 20 years of experience. She joined GOBankingRates in 2024 as a Senior SEO Financial Writer. Twenty years ago, she pivoted from her work as an attorney to a freelance writer. She has a JD from Southern Methodist University School of Law, a MA in English and BA in Political Science from the University of Texas at Dallas. Rudri also holds a Financial Health Counselor Certification, accredited by the National Association of Certified Credit Counselors (NACCC). Her work and expert advice has been featured in USA Today, MarketWatch, The Washington Post, Forbes, Web MD, Business Insider, Bankrate, Vox and other national outlets.
Joe Evans, CFHC™
Edited by
Joe Evans, CFHC™
Joe is a NACCC Certified Financial Health Counselor™, writer, editor and personal finance expert. He has been part of the GOBankingRates editorial team since 2024. He brings a decade of experience as a digital SEO-focused editor, writer and journalist. Before coming on board the GOBankingRates team, he wrote, edited and created content for niche digital readers in industries like legal cannabis, consumer software, automotive, sports, entertainment, and local news, just to name a few. Joe also holds a Financial Health Counselor Certification™, accredited by the National Association of Certified Credit Counselors (NACCC). When he's not creating and editing financial content, he's spending time with his wife, family and pets, watching sports or enjoying some outdoor activity in beautiful Northeastern Pennsylvania.

MoneyLion does not provide, own, control or guarantee third-party products or services accessible through its Marketplace (collectively, “Third-Party Products”). The Third-Party Products are owned, controlled or made available by third parties (the "Third-Party Providers"). Should you choose to purchase any Third-Party Products, the Third-Party Providers’ terms and privacy policies apply to your purchase, so you must agree to and understand those terms. The display on the MoneyLion website, app, or platform of any of a Third-Party Product or Third-Party Provider does not-in any way-imply, suggest, or constitute a recommendation by MoneyLion of that Third-Party Product or Third-Party Financial Provider. MoneyLion may receive compensation from third parties for referring you to the third party, their products or to their website.

This material is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as financial, legal, or tax advice. You should consult your own financial, legal, and tax advisors before engaging in any transaction. Information, including hypothetical projections of finances, may not take into account taxes, commissions, or other factors which may significantly affect potential outcomes. This material should not be considered an offer or recommendation to buy or sell a security. While information and sources are believed to be accurate, MoneyLion does not guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information or source provided herein and is under no obligation to update this information. For more information about MoneyLion, please visit https://www.moneylion.com/terms-and-conditions/.